Board of Directors

David J Turner


David has been a member of the Board since August 2006 and Chairman since February 2010. David was Chairman of Cobham plc., CEO of Brambles and a non-executive director on the Board of Whitbread plc. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accounts in England and Wales. Age 65.

Back to top

Ralph J Norris

KNZM, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Ralph was appointed as MD and CEO in September 2005. He had been CEO and MD of Air New Zealand since 2002 and had been a Director of that company since 1998. Ralph is Chairman of the Australian Bankers’ Association and CommFoundation Pty Ltd. Age 61.

Back to top

Jane S Hemstritch

Jane was appointed to the Board in October 2006. She was MD – Asia Pacific, Accenture from 2004 until her retirement in 2007. Jane is a director of The Global Foundation, Tabcorp Ltd and Santos Ltd. Age 56.

Back to top

Harrison Young

Harrison has been a member of the Board since 2007. He was Chairman of Morgan Stanley Australia from 2003 to 2007. Harrison is a director of Bank of England and Financial Services Volunteer Corps and Chairman of NBN Co. Limited and Better Place (Australia) Pty Limited. Age 65.

Back to top

Sir John A Anderson


Sir John joined the Board in March 2007. He is Chairman of Television NZ Ltd, Capital and Coast District Health Board, NZ Venture Investment Fund, Hawke's Bay District Health Board and PGG Wrightson Ltd. Sir John was the Chief Executive & Director of ANZ National Bank Ltd (2003-2005) and National Bank of NZ Ltd (1989-2003). Age 65.

Back to top

S Carolyn H Kay

Carolyn has been a member of the Board since 2003. She has extensive experience in international finance having worked as both a banker and a lawyer at Morgan Stanley, JP Morgan and Linklaters & Paines in London, New York and Australia. Carolyn is a director of Allens Arthur Robinson, Brambles Industries Ltd and Sydney Institute. Age 49.

Back to top

Colin R Galbraith


Colin has been a member of the Board since 2000. He is a special adviser with Gresham Partners, Chairman of BHP Billiton Community Trust, a Director of CARE Australia, Australian Institute of Company Directors, and OneSteel Ltd. Age 62.

Back to top

Fergus D Ryan

Fergus has been a member of the Board since 2000. He was a senior partner of Arthur Anderson until his retirement in 1999 after 33 years with that firm. Fergus is a director of Australian Foundation Investment Co. Ltd, and Centre for Social Impact. Age 67.

Back to top

Andrew M Mohl

Andrew was appointed to the Board effective July 2008. He is Chairman of Federal Government Export Finance and Insurance Corp. Andrew was MD and CEO of AMP Limited from 2002 to 2007. He was former Chief Economist and MD at ANZ Funds Management. Age 54.

Back to top

Details of Director's experience, qualifications and special responsibilities are available in the Annual Report and the Group's Website.

Commonwealth Bank's Corporate Governance is available on our Group's website.